The richest scone mix I have ever seen in my life! Massive quantities of sugar and butter and then bound with evaporated milk, of all things. I am re-blogging this because I think it will intrigue one of my readers especially. I think the blackberries will get his cook’s noggin’ workin’.

Also of interest because I have never ever seen a special scone tray before.

Onions and Chocolate

There are a lot of scone recipes out there.  I tend toward a more traditional cream scone, but I did not happen to have any cream in the house…so a little internet research turned up some alternatives, and a few seemed promising using evaporated milk.  After reading through them and finding some consistencies between them, I sort of made up my own recipe, fingers crossed that it would turn out.

Since it is the new year…and I’m sure you all have resolutions that you are trying to keep…many having to do with eating healthy, getting fit and watching your weight…here’s a little bonus!  Using evaporated milk makes these scones lower in fat.  You can substitute evaporated milk for heavy cream in many recipes, it provides the thickness and creaminess without the added fat.

Mini Blackberry Scones

2 cups flour
1 tbsp. baking powder
½ tsp. salt
3 tbsp. sugar
6…

View original post 199 more words

