Tags

, , , ,

Flamiche the First

Flamiche the First

Oh, my  goodness. That may have been my first Flamiche,  but it certainly will not be the last.

Recipe: Richard Bertinet’s Crust: Page 112.

Modifications: Recipe is made with 500g flour. Filling is 300g of Crème Frâiche and 3 eggs – I made a ⅔ quantity. The pancetta was replaced by smoked dry cure bacon and I added a slice of leftover honey roast ham. I had no leeks so used a mix of onion and shallot, adding a little sugar to compensate for the sweetness of leek. Gruyère was replaced by a mix of cheddar and parmesan.

Golden and gorgeous

Golden and gorgeous

I used organic stoneground unbleached flour and fresh yeast.

The lack of focus in the photographs may have been caused by a pre-dinner glass of sherry – I could not possibly comment. I cannot offer to re-take them as the Flamiche has been devoured.

Don't be fooled by the initial dainty serving

Don’t be fooled by the initial dainty serving

The Flamiche was served with a dressed salad and a glass of Rosé.

It made a wonderful and tasty change from pizza.  I am already planning ahead for the next one… and as far as next Christmas –  for an Anglicised and seasonal version as a portable seasonal lunch, should the weather favour us.

